Maneetpaul Singh

March 20, 2021

A Multi-Platform Content Strategy for Multi-Passionate People

I'm too passionate to only have one "thing".

For the longest time, I tried to to pick one niche that would extend across all my social media.

I'm a YouTuber first, so the "right" way of doing things would have been to post pillar content on YouTube and then repurpose small clips to other social platforms.

This never worked for me.

Rather than only having one niche for everything, another strategy is to have a different niche on each platform.

This change in mindset is small, but profound. Why try to extend a niche from one platform to another when you can just have two niches?

This allows creators to double down and be more specific in each niche, rather than trying to "make it work" on all their different social media.

Here's my portfolio:

• YouTube: This started with travel vlogs. It then slowly evolved into tech followed by niching down specifically into Kindles and e-readers.

• Instagram: This used to be a dumping ground to promote all my YouTube videos. Today, I'm in the process of transitioning this to be completely independent of YouTube and focused on helping other Content Creators.

• Twitter: Same as Instagram.

• Podcast: Sikhi is a big part of my life. I have a podcast that is specifically about interviewing other Sikhs who are doing work they love.

Every creator will have a unique journey.

There is no ”right“ way of approaching strategy. Define what success looks like and follow that as your North Star.

---
I post a new essay every day, but to prevent spamming your inbox I only choose to email a few of them each week. Here are my previous HEY World posts.


Thank you for reading.