Maneetpaul Singh

April 28, 2021

Doing What You Love Isn't Always Fun

Dear Friend & Fellow Creator,

The most difficult part about building a side-hustle is discipline.

The only person you report to is yourself. Nobody is going to hold you accountable if you slack off. There is no boss or manager checking in with you every day to see how your work is going.

Finding a balance between freedom and hard work is essential.

Part of the reason people follow their entrepreneurial ambitions is to escape the corporate hierarchy of work. But abandoning the corporate world comes with its own set of challenges. How do we enjoy freedom while still feeling a sense of urgency to put in an honest day's work?

Over the past year, I've gone through a roller coaster of productivity with my YouTube journey.

When I first started posting videos every week, what kept me motivated was the excitement that came with shipping a new piece of content. Over time, that excitement faded and was replaced with the valley of disappointment. The period of time when you realize you're putting in a ton of work, but only getting minimal results.

It's important to build systems that keep you accountable.

When the valley of disappointment approaches, systems are what keep us pushing through it. For me, I have a system of publishing at least one video a week no matter what. I tell myself if I want to quit my corporate job, I need to hold myself accountable to this one weekly system at the very least.

Just like learning how to code or how to edit videos, learning how to stay disciplined is a skill that matures with practice.

When making the decision to work on something for yourself, hold yourself accountable in the same way you would at a corporate job. Treat yourself with the same level of respect that you'd give a boss at work. If you want to be your own boss, find the balance of freedom and discipline.

Working on what you love will always have moments of excitement, but just like any other job, it will also require accountability to stick with it through the mundane moments.

Best,
Maneetpaul Singh

---
Help grow the community. If you enjoyed reading, consider forwarding this to a friend who might find it useful. 

I'm on a mission to escape the corporate world, check out my monthly income & expense reports.

If you'd like to support my work, ☕️ Buy Me A Coffee.

Twitter |  Instagram I YouTube

Thank you for reading.