Maneetpaul Singh

March 22, 2021

Fewer Followers Means More Success for Content Creators

Dear Friend & Subscriber,

I sometimes wish I could restart my subscriber count to zero on all platforms.

Over the last year, I've built a small community that I'm very grateful for. But this community is full of individuals who discovered me for different reasons.

Back when I started building my personal brand, I wasn't clear who I was targeting.

I thought that my only goal should be to build a large audience. This was a mistake.

The most successful creators that exist today have a low amount of followers. They create content specifically to attract a single type of individual.

They also realize that when it comes to monetization, it's better to have a small audience that is willing to pay a lot, than a large audience that isn't willing to invest.

Fewer followers means more clarity.

For example, for a few months I was trying to become a Tech YouTuber. The next MBHD. Reviewing any tech products I could get my hands on.

Because I was targeting "anyone interested in tech", it was very difficult to make content that was unique. The barrier to entry was too high, and my content got lost in all the noise.

Now I'm focusing on a specific sector of tech, the Kindle market. This is allowing me to make super specific content that is only relevant to Kindle owners.

I'm intentionally not trying to attract other viewers.

This may seem like I'm limiting my potential reach, but I'm finding that the the community is much more engaged.

Don't let the vanity metrics of followers and subscribers be your definition of success.

A real audience doesn't have to be a large one.

Best,
Maneetpaul Singh

---
I post a new essay every day, but to prevent spamming your inbox I only choose to email a few of them each week. Here are my previous HEY World posts.


Thank you for reading.