Maneetpaul Singh

April 3, 2021

How I Accidentally Discovered My Niche on YouTube

Dear Friend & Subscriber,

It took me over a year to discover my niche.

When I first started publishing videos, I was all over the place. I was making content about tech, Sikhi, and sometimes productivity. There was no clear strategy.

But looking back, I wouldn't change a thing.

I wish someone would have explained to me that finding your niche isn’t something you can just decide one day.

It's something that happens by doing.

When I first started,  I felt all over the place. But at the same time, I achieved three very important things:

1) Created opportunities to connect with more people
2) Determined what I actually enjoyed talking about
3) Obtained data on content that sparked engagement

After about six months, I realized I enjoyed talking about technology the most. It seemed this topic also got the most attention compared to everything else.

Phase one complete. My high-level niche was chosen.

The next part of the process was more difficult. It was frustrating to decide what kind of tech to focus on.

Again, I didn't realize it at the time, but I learned by doing. I kept creating more tech-focused videos, and eventually made another realization.

My Kindle and E-Reader videos were performing above average. By a lot.

I made my first Kindle video in the summer of 2020, but I didn't make the decision to niche down into this category until the start of 2021.

For the multi-passionate Creators out there, trust the process. It works, and you'll learn a lot by sticking with it.

Best,
Maneetpaul Singh

---
I post a new essay every day, but to prevent spamming your Imbox I only choose to email a few of them each week. Here are my previous HEY World posts.


If you'd like to support my work, consider forwarding this to a friend or Buying Me A Coffee.

Thank you for reading.