Maneetpaul Singh

March 22, 2021

Monday Conversation Starters

Hi there!

This is my weekly installment of Monday Conversation Starters. The place where I share my favorite tech and business news from the week, so you can have some fun conversations on Monday.

My Top Headline:

DuckDuckGo has been after Google this week over privacy concerns

Over the last few weeks, Google has been updating their iOS apps to be compliant with the new App Store policy of “Privacy Labels”. These labels require developers to disclose what kind of data the app collects from its users.

This new policy went into effect late last year, and Google intentionally stopped updating their iOS apps the day the new policy went live. Now a few months later, we’re finally getting to see the kind of data Google collects.

If you’re an iPhone user, I encourage you to go to the App Store and check out the privacy labels for apps like Chrome and Gmail. The amount of data being collected is astonishing, and has me wondering if I should start the process of switching off of Google Chrome as my primary browser.

In other news...

  • An iPhone manufacturing plant in India resumed production after violence broke out
  • Samsung may be skipping a new Galaxy Note this year
  • Intel has hired the former “I’m a Mac” guy from old Apple commercials
  • Twitter is testing a new ‘undo tweet’ feature
  • Teslas are banned in Chinese military bases due to security concerns 
  • Volkswagen thinks it can beat Tesla in the coming years
  • The Tampa teen Twitter hacker is going to jail for three years
  • Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp suffered a major outage

---
I post a new essay every day, but to prevent spamming your inbox I only choose to email a few of them each week. Here are my previous HEY World posts.


Thank you for reading.