Maneetpaul Singh

April 12, 2021

Shipping Content Is Important. Where you Ship Is Important Too.

Dear Friend & Subscriber,

So many Creators fall into the trap of building their own personal blog or website. 

Every month for almost a year, I wrote a detailed blog post about my YouTube journey. I included metrics I would have paid to see myself if I was a new YouTuber. The content was genuinely valuable. 

The problem was nobody was reading it. 

It wasn't because the content was bad. It was because these blog posts were on a deserted island in the middle of the vast internet. I would post the blog post and tell people on social media to check it out, but nobody would. 

Through this experience, I learned how important it is to publish content where your audience is already present. 

This month I tried a different approach. I still wrote a detailed blog post, but instead of telling people to read it, I decided to bring the value directly to social media. I took all the main points of the blog post and created a Twitter thread, 10-part Instagram story, and even a YouTube video. 

More people than ever responded to my content and engaged with it. This proved the problem wasn’t the content itself, but rather how I was shipping it. 

Social media platforms are the equivalent of big cities.

Millions of people are already hanging out there. Content Creators are tasked with capturing attention and directing people back to a lesser known area outside of town. To do this, we must earn credibility and build the roads. 

Investing dozens of hours into creating a personal blog is a rabbit hole. Trust me, I've been there. A better return on investment is creating content for social platforms. 

After fostering a small audience on social media, we're more likely to get engaged community members coming to our personal website because they want to, not because we asked them to. 

Best,
Maneetpaul Singh

---
Help grow the community. If you enjoyed reading, consider forwarding this to a friend who might find it useful. 

All my previous HEY World posts organized by category can be found here.

If you'd like to support my work, ☕️ Buy Me A Coffee.

Twitter |  Instagram I YouTube

Thank you for reading.