Maneetpaul Singh

April 9, 2021

The Importance of Staying Uncomfortable as a Creator

Dear Friend & Subscriber,

I recently decided to challenge myself and start posting a story on Instagram every day. 

You'd think this would be easy for me as an experienced YouTuber. Instagram is nothing compared to YouTube, right? 

Wrong. 

Putting myself on Instagram stories has been the most uncomfortable I've felt in months. 

On YouTube, I post a video and forget about it. It might get some comments, but overall once it's published, it's on to the next one. 

On Instagram, I put something on my story, and within minutes DMs are coming in. People love to share their thoughts and opinions on Instagram. 

When we feel uncomfortable, it's a sign that we're doing something right. 

I've been hesitant to post on Instagram because I know it's where I'll get criticism and feedback. It's the platform where my audience is most willing to communicate with me. 

And these reasons are exactly why I'm embracing Instagram. 

Feeling uncomfortable is a form of resistance. It's our body telling us to retreat back to familiar territory. 

But being a Creator is about treating that feeling of resistance as a compass to guide us forward, not backwards. 

When I started YouTube, it was out of my comfort zone. The resistance was strong, and it took me years to gain the confidence to start. 

With practice and consistency, YouTube has now become normal routine to publish two videos every week. 

When we feel resistance, recognize that it's temporary. 

What awaits on the other side is a world of opportunity. 

Best,
Maneetpaul Singh

---
Help grow the community. If you enjoyed reading, consider forwarding this to a friend who might find it useful. 

All my previous HEY World posts organized by category can be found here.

If you'd like to support my work, ☕️ Buy Me A Coffee.

Twitter |  Instagram I YouTube

Thank you for reading.