Aaron Pinero

March 4, 2021

Something I miss from the city

I had an appointment this morning and decided to walk there. Walking around here is very enjoyable. I love all the trees. I enjoy the architecture and character of the older buildings and homes. There are parks and creeks, stone churches and Tudor-style apartment buildings. It's surprising that so few people walk. Everyone in suburbia drives. The only people I see walking these days are kids going to and from school or adults walking their dogs.

If there's one thing I miss from the city, though, is there are fewer places to walk to. In the city, destinations are numerous and diffuse. Here, they are all concentrated in specific places. My family misses the many local East Asian restaurants and the very convenient market that was around the corner. The only thing comparably close to our home now is a gas station. It might have a tiny little convenience store attached, but I've never been in there. The pandemic, you know?

I personally miss Industry City, the district of converted warehouses in Brooklyn. There was great shopping and always something to see or do. And it was a just a long walk or short bike ride away. We have plenty of shopping a similar distance from our home now, but it's not quite the same. It doesn't have the same diversity.

After the pandemic, things might be different. For now, at least I have my walks.