Adam James

August 23, 2021

Code CAD as a Tool for the Trades-person

IMG_4013.jpg


I work on and think a lot about design tools - code based CAD in particular.

I originally stumbled upon the concept of using written code to create 2D and 3D models years ago when I was searching around the web for open source and free modeling software to use for side projects. OpenSCAD was what I discovered and I was fascinated. It became the gateway into programming for me. And I loved it.

I discovered the power of code as a language for communicating intent, constraints, and ideas in a very dense yet consistent manner, and loved that it made my designs both more flexible and more consistent. Text and a basic rendering environment, though not necessarily easy, are certainly simple in comparison to full featured CAD environments such as SolidWorks and AutoCAD. 

I want to think of myself as a craftsman, but realistically speaking I suspect I’m only crafty on the weekends. Throughout my days I recognize the need for and satisfaction in a simple, straightforward approach; one of a tradesperson. And I think code based CAD is a wonderful tool for the modern trades: it requires knowledge and skill to use, but a competent user wields it quickly and efficiently without much fuss or ceremony. 

Code CAD isn’t meant to be glamorous. It’s meant to be powerful, functional, and flexible without getting in the way of the real work, which in most practical settings is some tangible product, not merely a flashy render. I love a great model, but there’s very little that beats a set of technical drawings with grease and oil stains and pencil markups. I think programmatic CAD can strike a good balance here and be a real value added tool for design. At least, that’s the way I’m adding it into my work. 

This is only one of my opinions about programmatic CAD, but I think it’s a useful way of thinking about the tool. Code is just another option we have when working on designs; it is not the end goal, and it is not necessarily superior or fitting in every case. But we don’t deny the importance of a hammer just because not everything is a nail.