Adam James

August 16, 2021

Thinking and Writing

I just learned about this blogging feature with Hey and am excited to give it a try. 

I have recognized over the past pandemic year that I’m not entirely happy with my personal learning. I thought that I would develop better systems and studies through a year spent inside, but that’s not been the case. It was often a year of apathy, anxiety, and worry. 

It was also a year of real positive change in my own life, so it’s not all bad. 

Just a mixed bag. 

But I think that writing is a useful tool for thinking and sharpening understanding, so this new blogging tool may be just what I need to get the gears turning again. 

As I keep things going, I want to work on the following things:

  • Re-building my engineering and industrial design skills by studying my textbooks  and creating technical posts to illustrate concepts
  • Create a career around the climate crisis by working in technical solutions, performing appropriate data analysis, and understanding policy and community to become an effective activist. I am naive as to how to best do these things, but I’m starting with notes and design docs and will iterate my way to being impactful. And I’ll be careful to just get out of the way when that’s the best thing I can do
  • Build and use open source programmatic CAD tools. 
  • Create more written, video, and stream content relating to programming and engineering topics. 

I want to work on all of those things because they are important to me and be a I feel compelled to try make a positive difference in the world using my skills. No very original, but it’s true that I feel that way, so I’ll keep my reasons simple. At least for now.