Alex Medick

June 29, 2022

Fuck therapy… but you should totally do it

Let me tell you… therapy is a double edged sword. On one hand, fuck it sucks. On the other, damn it’s good for the soul. 

I resisted therapy for an incredibly long time. I didn’t want to sit there and pour my soul out to someone. No one needs to see what’s going on in my head. I don’t want to drive them insane with my insanity.

Also, talk about an uncomfortable situation.

Me sitting awkwardly on the couch, looking at the therapist on the chair in front of me. We both sit in silence as you hear the sound of the clock tick on by.

“So, tell me about your mother,” says the therapist.


Ugggggghhhh. The thought of that whole scenario sent shivers down my spine.

Therapy? Me? Hell no.

At the end of 2021, my wife finally convinced me to see someone though. I was already meditating, journaling, and reading self-improvement books, so why not see a professional?

It took some convincing. 

What really pushed me was hearing how Chamath Palihapitiya see’s a therapist every Monday.

I thought to myself, “if therapy is good enough for Chamath, it’s definitely good enough for me.”

So I found a therapist and went to work.

At first it was weird. An uncomfortable weird. Letting someone into your mind is always fucking crazy.

But after a few weeks, it all became easier. Dare I say, it also become normal?

When we finally started digging into the “why” on my actions, my eyes started to open up and see a better way.

I felt more than I ever have, which sucked. But I also have never seen more clearly.

If you’re thinking about seeing a therapist, know that it’s hard. It’s work. It’s messy. But it’s rad. 

Fuck therapy… But honestly, you should totally do it.

-AJM

web | twitter | signal

About Alex Medick

Dad, Entrepreneur // Building INSIDE