Alex Medick

September 21, 2022

Reminding myself to zoom out

Zoom out. You’re doing better than you realize. 

That’s what I’m trying to tell myself at least.

It’s hard to see the full magnitude of where you are in life and the progress you’re making towards your goals.

Like most, I’m assuming, it’s a tall ask to get out of your head, take a breath, and zoom out – see the macro over the micro. 

Perspective matters. 

I’ve recently started to get a little down about not making progress fast enough. Honestly, I was upset that I haven’t reached my personal milestones yet – and yes, I realize the foolishness of this statement as some folks would cause chaos to be in my shoes.

What got me out of the funk was putting the timeline of my roadmap together and a change in my mental positioning.

And you know what? I’m doing a lot better on the roadmap than I realized. Holy hell.

Let’s go through the timeline, shall we?

  • In 2018, I read the book Angel by Jason Calacanis. It sent me into a deep dive into the world of startups, venture capital, and investing. I became obsessed. (You’re welcome This Week In Startups Pod for the massive ratings boost from my non-stop listening)

  • In 2019, I started investing my own money into startups through Reg CF and Reg A+ offerings. Nothing major, but wanted to start learning the ropes and get closer to the startup scene.

  • In 2020, I was hired through Twitter to join Inside.com, a Jason Calacanis company. I would be the startup’s first-ever marketer – landing my place as the first Chief Marketing Officer.

    I was blown away that I was going to be working with one of my heroes and the person that literally brought me into the Silicon Valley / tech / startup scene. It was wild! 

  • In 2022, Jason Calacanis offered me the position of President of Inside.com. 

Holy f*cking hell! The idea that I’m now the President of a fast-growing startup that is founded by an angel investing legend and is backed by some of the biggest names in investing (Mark Cuban, Sequoia) is absolutely mind-blowing.

And all of that happened in the course of 4 years. 

It’s mind-blowing. That’s the only thing I can really say.

Maybe it feels longer because everyone knows 1 human year is 28 in startup years.

After looking at it from a different angle, I felt a lot better about where I was and the progress I’m making. I’m further along the journey than I actually realized.

So, zoom out. You’re doing better than you realize. 


- AJM

About Alex Medick

Dad, Entrepreneur // Building INSIDE