Alex Medick

October 13, 2022

Stay scrappy.

I dig the scrappy entrepreneurs. Yeah, of course there’s a stage in life and business where you don’t need to hack your way through everything. I get that and think that’s awesome. 

But in all honesty, you probably don’t need the top shelf shiny toy to make magic happen.

Most times, you just need to have the drive and ability to think quickly to make big moves. Have some ingenuity. Have some creativity.

Like I told someone today: it’s okay to want the big must-have thing that might conquer the world. But is it a must-have or nice-to-have? 

If it’s not essential to the moment or time (or just jaw droppingly expensive), figure out your roadmap to get to the point where it makes sense to commit to that tool. 

A lot of folks want to go straight from A-Z and spend money like it’s going out of style. 

Simmer down noooowwwww (did saying that just age me?)

Take a step back. Visualize the outcomes that Z provides, and figure out how to replicate those outcomes now with what you have at hand. Then figure out what it would look like to grow from A to Z, while making growth stops at B-Y along the way. You can always grow into the next level, taking micro-milestones along the journey. 

I don’t think I’ll ever escape the scrappy mindset. I’ll always be mindful, minimal, essential, and hacking my way to the end of times. It’s just how I naturally operate. 

And here’s a fun side note: by staying scrappy and mindful, you might just be able to avoid mass layoffs in times of hardship… cough Web3 companies cough

Stay scrappy my friends. 

-AJM

PS- dig this newsletter? Tell a friend to sign up too. I'll be your best friend if they do! -> Get this newsletter


About Alex Medick

Dad, Entrepreneur // Building INSIDE