Alex Medick

June 15, 2022

The Morning Checklist (plus 2 habits that need to stop)

The sun is rising. Birds are chirping. The wonder and glory of a new day is happening all around you. 

Yet you’re still groggy eyed and hitting snooze begging the universe for just 15 more minutes of sleep. 

After the snooze alarm goes off, you drag your ass out of bed and sluggishly go off into the world… you know, to enjoy that amazing new day, at work. 

Oh mornings, aren’t they wonderful? 

I get it, I do. I used to be like that (maybe slightly less exaggerated). 

But that’s a completely shit way to wake up. 

So here’s my morning checklist that helps me start the day off on the right foot. A morning checklist that helps me get ready to live, and conquer, each new day. 

Welcome to your new morning checklist: 

  • Don’t hit snooze and sit up when the alarm goes off
  • Drink a full glass of water 
  • Gratitude Journal – write down 3 things you’re grateful for. 
  • Stretch your body for 3-5 minutes. 
  • Do 10 pushups and 10 squats
  • Meditate for 5 minutes (15 if you’re unlocking God Mode) 
  • Get on with the rest of your day and go kick some ass!

Okay, in the title of the post, I also hinted at 2 shitty habits. I didn’t include them in the list above because, well, they’re shitty. 

But in between Gratitude Journal and Stretching, I can’t help but check my emails and Twitter to make sure my work world isn’t in chaos. Im actively working on stopping that though – it’s no bueno for the mind and soul. 

Oh, before I sign off here… I use 3 apps that really help me with my morning routine habits. They are:

  1. Kin Habits (habit tracker and community)
  2. Day One (daily gratitude journaling)
  3. Headspace (meditation) 

Alright, you have a checklist. Now go give it a try for a week or 2 and see what a difference it makes.

Then, you’re more than welcome to email me and tell me I was right. 

Until next time,

About Alex Medick

Dad, Entrepreneur // Building INSIDE