Alex Medick

March 10, 2022

What's got my attention this week... #003

Hey All -

It's time for another edition of, What's Got My Attention This Week. I send this out 2x a month sharing things I'm currently into. Heck, maybe you'll want to check them out too.

Before I begin though, I want to talk about shifting newsletter platforms. I'm moving away from using Revue and starting to use HEY as my newsletter provider. 

Why would I do this? For starters, I love the HEY product. Second, I write this newsletter for fun, and if others enjoy it, that's rad too. With other newsletter providers, I see open rates, click rates, deliverability, and all of this other data. Quite frankly, I don't really care about that stuff for my personal newsletter. With HEY, I don't know any of that. I know subscriber count, and that's it. And I think that's pretty rad. 

Alright, now on with the show!

###

What I'm Watching

Super Pumped: The Battle For Uber

This is a new limited series (I think?) on Showtime about the founding of Uber and it's former-CEO, Travis Kalanick. While I'm sure parts of this show are sensationalized for TV, it's still a lot of fun. And for someone obsessed with startups like myself, this is a must watch good time.

MV5BZDE2OWEyOTItMmQ1Mi00OGNlLWFmNjEtZDU3OGE2OTk1YjY5XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyOTA3MTMyOTk@._V1_.jpg



What I'm Reading

Hooked: How To Build Habit-Forming Products

I actually just finished this book last night and loved it. I picked it up to help me get inspiration for work I'm doing at Inside.com (we're building a rad new product over there that's coming out soon). This read did not disappoint at all. It is jam packed with information and exercises to help you build out your habit-forming growth products. And the workbook that comes with it is super clutch.

If you're in marketing, definitely check out this book. Kudos to Nir Eyal and Ryan Hoover for writing this.

Hooked Book - AlexMedick.com.jpeg



What I'm Listening To

The Tim Ferriss Show Ep. 578: Tim Ferriss and Matt Mullenweg Get Personal in Antartica

As a fan of Tim Ferriss and Matt Mullenweg, this was a awesome interview to discover this week. A few things that I really enjoyed about the episode was that it was recorded while they were both on a trip to Antartica together, it had no agenda other than to have a great conversation, the got real about personal issues that made them more relatable, and their friendship really shined through in their conversation.

It's a long one (2 hours), but definitely worth it.

Screen Shot 2022-03-09 at 8.29.48 PM.png



What Made Me Laugh

Inappropriate? Sure. Hilarious? Hell yes! 😂

IMG_8658.jpeg


Thanks for reading another edition of WGMATW.  

Carpe Diem,
AJM

Web | Twitter | Instagram

About Alex Medick

Dad, Entrepreneur // Building INSIDE