Amna

April 17, 2023

Journey of Decluttering: Facing the Past and Moving Forward Lighter

As I continue my journey of decluttering, and sorting my life together, I've reached a point where I must face the notebooks I've refused to look at for so long. I've held onto them because I know there are pieces of me hidden within their pages. Tonight, after much preparation, I finally dove in. I picked up one notebook after another, extracted the pages containing notes I wanted to digitize, and discarded a bunch of used notebooks.

I came across work-related notes that sparked mixed feelings. On one hand, I felt pride in my accomplishments; on the other, I despised the stress that came with them. The most difficult feelings are the ones that are mixed, and I have a lot of those. My decluttering journey is an attempt to clear my inner space, providing peace, closure, and allowing me to move forward lighter.

However, when I stumbled upon my divorce notes and journals, it was overwhelming. I decided to take a break and let go of my thoughts through this blog post. Even if no one reads it, it feels good to articulate my feelings. That's why I write – it's my way of expressing myself. My old posts will remain online for me to revisit when I'm older, to see how my life has evolved.

My divorce was my choice, and in my notes, I wrote about happy and victorious moments. But, honestly, it's an experience I wouldn't wish upon anyone or want to relive. This is one of those perplexing feelings – happiness intermingled with pain, pride accompanied by guilt, relief alongside exhaustion.

In the end, these notes are testaments to my life's journey. By digitizing them, I'm creating more space in my room, storage boxes, and lightening my heart. This introspective trip is one that many avoid, but I've found the courage to embark on it and build my inner strength and self-realization.