Amna

April 4, 2024

Recharge

I recently took two days off from work, and for the first time, I did not check my work email or follow up on the tasks I had promised to handle. Despite planning to, I didn't even open my work laptop.

I'm writing about this with a sense of surprise and pride. It felt important enough to share my experience of small wins in daily life with the world, It could be a valuable lesson.

My manager taught me this when I offered to complete a task during my days off. He promptly rejected the notion, insisting that a holiday is for rest and recharge, and work can wait until I return.

Another reason for my time off was a deep exhaustion. I was running on empty, my efficiency wasn't the same and my tasks started piling up. Striving for perfection, I often found myself lagging behind and working overtime.

During Ramadan, the extended hours, the intense problem-solving, coordinating with multiple teams and vendors, all while fasting became overwhelming. I felt unwell and physically sore. Upon requesting time off to recharge, my manager immediately agreed, which is quite rare.

In those two days, I slept plenty, went Eid shopping with my kids, completed errands, and revisited my March mind map—a visualization of all aspects of my life. As a mother aspiring to make a difference and excel both professionally and personally, the pressure is immense. This map helps me to focus and manage my commitments.

Often, minor tasks that are not a priority still linger in the mind, creating a sense of failure for not accomplishing them due to more pressing family and work duties. I decided to take control and address these.

Reviewing my March tasks, now shifting to my April Mind Map, I felt a sense of achievement. I marked green many items, maintaining a record of my March accomplishments. Updating the map for April and removing completed items marked a significant step forward. 

It clarified my path and provided answers, or at least, semi-answers for many things I wanted to explore. Some of these tasks were wishes to do things that didn't work out, now I know these tasks are out of my head and I gotta adapt my approach. This was not just about tracking tasks; it was about strategizing for the future. 

Ironically, while work occupies a section on my map, I didn't refer to its circle once. This doesn't necessarily mean that I won't do work-related stuff over the weekend. in fact I might, I'm looking forward to returning to work on Sunday, refreshed and re-energized.
4 April, 2024