Ash Blankenship

March 24, 2021

A Simple Way to Measure Progress

I still remember my first ever website.

I created it using HTML, which I coded in my PC's Notepad app. At the time, it was amazing and beautiful! But by today's standards, it would be dated. And by my current standards, I would consider it awful. 

It's not that I did a bad job designing and creating my first website. It was great then, based on my skills and available tools. But looking back allows me to see how far I've progressed. 

We can all look back at past projects and laugh at how bad they were, but that doesn't mean we failed. In fact, by reviewing our subpar past work, we can see how we’ve improved our skills and use it to measure our progress. 

No matter our line of work—whether we write proposals, design business cards, make furniture, build houses, or design cars, we improve over time. 

Moreover, we should hope that in the future we look back at our current work and realize that we have progressed still. 

I'm fortunate to have had the opportunity to create my first website two decades ago. It's what got me to where I am today. And while the days of hand coding HTML in Notepad are over, for me, progress continues in its fruitful ways.