Avinash Joshi

June 15, 2021

Slack style ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ shortcut on {i{,Pad},mac}OS

Ever since I was introduced to the "/shrug" command in Slack, I fell in love with it - I used it way more than I should've! I love this ASCII art over the shrug emoji 🤷🏼‍♂️ - so much that I wanted this to be global on all my devices - iPad, iOS, and macOS.

Enter text replacements (for Apple devices)

All apple devices come with a "Text Replacement" feature. All I did was create a shortcut to Replace "shrug" With "¯\_(ツ)_/¯"  on my Mac (screenshot below). Here are the steps to manage your text replacements in macOS, iOS, and iPadOS.

Pro tip: setting it up on one of you Apple device propagates all replacements to all devices signed in with that Apple ID!

image.png


There might be a similar technique for Windows or Android. 

What is the meaning of "{i{,Pad},mac}OS"

In the world of shell script this is called brace expansion - a life hack that makes shell script / terminal commands fun, short (and cryptic?). The output of "echoing" (a.k.a., printing) it in a terminal will be as follows:
image.png