Benedict Terrell

January 10, 2024

“Nearly there…”

Over the years I've found a strong attachment to these two words. I can't recall exactly when I first started using them in this way or when it was that I started keeping it as a pet phrase in my repertoire... but there's a certain cryptic, alluring quality surrounding "nearly there..." that won't allow me to let it go. Forgive me for gushing...

One of the main reasons I like the phrase is because it implies that there is--and has been until the moment invoked--progress. Progress to what end? I'm not sure. That's a question left entirely up to the one answering. A splendid open-ender. It could be that I'm on my way to completing a task. I'm one step closer to achieving a goal. I'm a few days away from making a new connection that will make my life just that much more interesting. I'm inching my way to financial and personal freedom, professional zeniths as yet unimagined, and exotic destinations unknown.

"Nearly there" can be a catch-all not just for me, but for you too. As cheesy as it is to envoke High School Musical (I haven't watched it, I'm just here for the memes), "we're all in this together!"

I've been trying to keep the concept of "sonder" in mind while I go through my life recently. According to The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows on Tumblr (yeah... I know...), sonder refers to "the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own—populated with their own ambitions, friends, routines, worries and inherited craziness..."

As I've been leaning heavily into my career in hospitality by way of coffee, I've been really trying to get out of my own head and realize the facts of life, including this big one: people around me don't actually pay that much attention to me. They have their own lives and I try to appreciate that each and every day. It's not so important to dwell on the small things that you may worry over. Not everyone will remember you for the tiny mistakes or the occasional faux pas... more than likely most of the people I come into contact with have too much going on in their own lives to really focus on little old me. I'm just one of the billions of people living their own lives, as are you.

Hey. Maybe I don't know you. And if I don't know you, I likely never will! However improbable it is that you stumble upon this piece of writing--or any other piece of writing I put out, for that matter--I'd want you to be aware that there's someone else out there (me!) who wants you to push forward. There's a whole lot of life to be lived out there, plenty enough for the both of us. I'm sure that you've come just as far, if not farther, than I have. We have to keep going whether we like it or not. Who knows what's in store around the corner?

---

I'd like to think that 2024 could mark a change for the better. There's still a lot unaccounted for in my life... a lot of uncertainties, insecurities, weakness, and doubt. While I admittedly come from a place of safety and privilege, I can't deny my humanity. With humanity comes the "soul" (or whatever you call it... I'm just trying to put a name to all these chemicals that put my head in the space it's always in) and with the soul comes a heavy weight. We all bear our weight in different ways. Forgive me if I try to wear mine as a hat or, like, an ornate coat for the time being.

While I attempt to shed some of that weight or perhaps grow strong enough to shoulder it a bit more gracefully, I'll be sharing thoughts, opinions, and ideas here (ideally each over 500 words with real substance... feel free to call me out if I'm bullshitting here). You can feel free to watch this space, subscribe to the RSS feed, or wait for my updates on whatever social media you find me on!

Thank you so much for reading. May we keep moving forward... together!

Nearly there.

About Benedict Terrell

I’m a coffee professional and hospitality enthusiast living and working in Japan. I’m a frequent marketing figure for my company, Ogawa Coffee. Otherwise, I dabble in music production and iPhoneography. I suffer with/benefit from ADHD and advocate for mental health in all aspects of life!

Find me on Threads, Mastodon, or get more personal and email me at benedictllo@hey.com