Ben Norris

March 8, 2021

New things

The advent of HEY World has made me think again about everything I do and own online. Right now, I have a number of different sites for different purposes. I don’t actually post to them very often, but they are there just in case.

I also have a number of email addresses set up, most of which are unnecessary. The main ones I have converted over to use with HEY, and I think I like having things set up here.

But as I saw that HEY now supports blogging, and in a simpler way than I have ever seen, I am enticed. Even better, there is a dead-simple email newsletter. I have been happy with Buttondown, but that requires some set up and extra effort.

So now I’m torn. I have heard and believed for a long time that owning your content online and publishing at your own url is important. HEY World does not support that. But it allows me to get my thoughts out in the simplest way. These thoughts are meant to be rough. My personal blog is meant to be full of experiments.

So, I think I want to give it a try. I have to remind myself that I am not committing to do something for life by trying it out. We’ll just see where things go.