Ben Sinclair

January 4, 2024

Newbie investors can be extremely fickle and emotional

I recently joined an investment group and they have a forum for their members.

Being apart of the community has really opened my eyes to how markets work. People are so fickle and act on emotions, sometimes based on someone’s opinion rather than on a plan or data. 

We are emotional beings so it makes sense that we act this way. However, when playing with money, ideally people need to invest it, not gamble it.

It’s been amazing how many people in the community want to “sell the news” or giving up on disruptive stocks because the price has been down for a bit or trying to double their money in 3 months. Crazy.

I’m challenged to be level headed in my investments and not allow someone’s opinions or my emotions get in the way of my plan and data.

-Ben

About Ben Sinclair

Hey! I'm Ben. I’m a Christian, husband, father, son, friend  and I work at Tithe.ly. I'm passionate about finance and technology. These writings are for me, however, maybe they’ll be interesting to others. Thanks for stopping by!