Ben Sinclair

February 2, 2023

Pay yourself first

A habit that is important to get into is paying yourself first before you pay any of your other bills.

Paying yourself first should be under the goal of putting aside money for yourself to increase your wealth, not to be spent on things you want.

An emergency fund is a good place to start if you don't have one. From there, you want to put the money to work to increase your asset column.

If you have a budget, you should add a budget line item to pay yourself. This way you're turning an expense into an asset. Pretty neat.

As for me, I tithe to my local church so that's my first payment. The second payment goes to increasing my wealth.

-Ben

About Ben Sinclair

Hey! I'm Ben. I’m a Christian, husband, father, son, friend  and I work at Tithe.ly. I'm passionate about finance and technology. These writings are for me, however, maybe they’ll be interesting to others. Thanks for stopping by!