Ben Sinclair

July 8, 2024

Purpose for all the things

I'm an easy going, go with the flow sort of guy so planning generally isn't my first thought.

Something I've realised in life as I get older is how important it is to have purpose in various areas of my life. Whether it be where I work, what food I put in my body, whether or not I exercise and how much, the friendships I foster, the church I attend, my relationship with God, my marriage and my children.

Without purpose, many things in our lives simply "just happen". And it's pretty obvious (even though we tend to ignore it) that letting things just happen can create a lot of outcomes we didn't expect, good and bad.

It's true we cannot control everything, and even with purpose things can have unexpected outcomes. The goal isn't to be perfect and to obsess. No point being worried or anxious that we are doing everything right. But taking the time to be a more intentional about key areas of our lives, writing it down and looking at it regularly, we can better keep ourselves accountable.

Here is something I love that John Delony said in Own Your Past, Change Your Future (paraphrased).

"I have to change my actions. I have to change how I live. I have to take control of my life. Comfort can be my enemy. My identity is the sum total of my actions. Life ISN’T going to be the same after certain experiences. And that’s ok."

We have the power to choose what sort of person we want to be and what we want to do.

Some things I like to think about and review weekly are (in no particular order):

  • What identity do I want? Who do I wish to become?
  • Physical health
  • Fitness routine
  • Morning routine
  • Screen time management
  • Family time and communication
  • Marriage vision
    Date nights
  • Spiritual growth
  • Social connections
  • Self control
  • Recreational activities
  • Gratitude practice

-Ben

About Ben Sinclair

Hey! I'm Ben. I’m a Christian (a child of God), husband, father, son, friend and I work at Tithe.ly. I'm passionate about Jesus, finance and technology. These writings are for me, however, maybe they’ll be interesting to others. Thanks for stopping by!