Ben Sinclair

November 6, 2022

Subtle things that have substantial impact

I learned the other day something about handling my 5 year old son when he is really upset about something.

If I try to distract him or downplay his reason for being upset, it can subconsciously teach him that it’s not good to show emotion.

Instead I should do the opposite and show him it’s ok to be upset and to show emotion. 

I can scoop him up, give him a big hug and ask him to tell me what happened. I should truly listen and validate his sadness.

Here’s to being more empathetic!

-Ben

About Ben Sinclair

Hey! I'm Ben. I’m a Christian, husband, father, son, friend  and I work at Tithe.ly. I'm passionate about finance and technology. These writings are for me, however, maybe they’ll be interesting to others. Thanks for stopping by!