Ben Sinclair

November 8, 2022

What's with the obsession with dark mode?

Why are software companies so obsessed with dark mode?

I saw an app the other day proudly announce in their release notes, their top feature, was the fact they now had dark mode.

I have nothing against dark mode but I struggle to see why there’s so much excitement around supporting it.

Dark mode makes me think of the old school developer forums that were all black with white text.

Are the tech folks who love the darkness forcing this or do everyday users actually like and use dark mode? 

-Ben

About Ben Sinclair

Hey! I'm Ben. I’m a Christian, husband, father, son, friend  and I work at Tithe.ly. I'm passionate about finance and technology. These writings are for me, however, maybe they’ll be interesting to others. Thanks for stopping by!