BSAG

March 7, 2021

Primroses

Dear primroses,

I'm so glad to see you again! You always take me by surprise for some reason, even though you reliably pop up through the gravel in the garden at about this time each year. I'll be idly looking out of the kitchen window when I suddenly see you for the first time, even though you've probably been there for days or weeks, and think "oh, it's nearly Spring!". You don't draw attention to yourself like some other flowers, but it's really my fault for not really looking. I feel like someone who has walked straight past a friend without greeting them.

You are tough, though, I know. In previous years, I've seen you smothered by 20 cm of snow after you had started flowering, and felt sure that you would have been killed. But then the snow melted and you popped back up as if nothing had happened. I admire that resilience.

Seeing your flowers - the colour of a brimstone butterfly's wings - always makes me feel hopeful. That particular yellow is often the first colour of Spring, and the sign of more colour and life to come. Thank you for coming back.

Yours, in love and admiration,
bsag