Claire

February 6, 2023

kwee's weeks in photos

I want this poster for the bedroom, but Peter's not sure about going to sleep every night and waking up every morning under the watchful eye of Klaus Kinski. The patron saint of destructive obsession...but I'm going to wear him down eventually (ง’̀-‘́)ง


weirdest and worrying January weather here in NYC, but it made for a bright orange-purple one evening


infinite intimacies 


Café China


sad to see that Casa is closed. I celebrated my 22nd birthday here 😢
a HBD to ben, a HBD to saha, a HBD to ijeoma; and to all the other wonderful aquarius babies ♒


Chinese New Year bunnies abound

enjoy the silence

arthur and one of his mamas
I can't stop laughing at this


cozy bits cozy bobs

mahima's rajma 


Watch this short film about the Black history that's excluded from "the tales New York tells about itself": https://youtu.be/cYoeFU5Xw2I
Among the many things I did not know that I learned from this video:
- The "York" of New York City was a slave trader
- Samuel Fraunces of Fraunces Tavern was a person of African descent
- the history and meaning behind Downtown Manhattan's African Burial Ground
"But what you discover over time is that you can bury over a site, bury over a building, knock something down and cover it up, but you can't bury spirit." —— Kamau Ware


seeing m3gan ominously and jump-scaringly appear (without being seen walking up to a character) throughout her movie reminded me of the ever-genius way Hitchcock directed Rebecca's Mrs. Danvers (passage from Hitchcock/Truffaut). A lot of scary movies use this trope, but I leap at the opportunity to share Hitchcock’s perspective from when he first did it. 

the dog of your nightmares 🖤


I have a new fave spot. Though it isn't new, it's new to me: Gene's! Watch John Leguizamo wax poetic about the place: https://twitter.com/google/status/1402662210493718532

Bold Forbes giving people the kissy feels 💏 


I love Moe's Doughs

I wasn’t a fan of the NYMag etiquette piece (which was their goal I think, to annoy people), but I tip my hat to this pizza ordering tip.
Oro blanco, from mama 💛