Claire

October 31, 2022

spook rock

3 or 4 Octobers ago,

I was at a midnight screening at Spectacle, where they were running through some very special, very campy, low production value horror movies. As we waited for the movie to begin, we realized the music playing was super spooky vibey, but also funky and fun. We asked for some of the songs from the guy manning the ticket sales, and it turned out he was just adding songs to a YouTube queue as the night went on. He gave us a few starter songs, and thus began our Spook Rock & More playlist.

Here were the starter songs:

And here are my faves/personal selections from the playlist. Because I’m a *Movie Gal*, a lot of them from movies:

From left to right, top to bottom: 
  1. From Cat People 
  2. This isn’t from a movie, but I discovered Jackson C. Frank from the movie Martha Marcy May Marlene. A movie I strongly dislike, but it did give me Jackson C. Frank…
  3. From my favorite, the Phantom of the Paradise
  4. From Clockwork Orange 🍼
  5. Also not from a movie, but Nick Cave will always be a movie-music man for me because of this scene from Wings of Desire 
  6. From Suspiria 

This year’s Halloween 




I 🧡🖤 Halloween

IMG_7123.jpg
From Dodie Bellamy’s The Letters of Mina Harker