Claire

August 8, 2022

the neverhood

For years, I've been trying to figure out where some strange imagery in my head originally came from: visions of a red-earthy, doughy, empty world undulating in front of a black backdrop.

And I'm delighted to say, it finally came to me! What I was beginning to think was a fever dream was actually from a 1996 videogame called the Neverhood that I used to watch my brothers play. I could never be bothered with the games they were playing, but this one had a delightfully silly main character, jaunty tunes, and a world I wished desperately I could live in.

I found some videos online of gameplay, here's a taste:

01 neverhood.jpg
screengrabs from this video
the game's first scene

second scene: I only ever made it this far as a player before I gave up and asked my brothers to play, so I could just enjoy the weird-pretty scenes and the weird-pretty music


A selection of sets/scenes 




The characters

Klaymen, the main character



Klogg, the game's antagonist


the cutest, silliest, sweetest, the one, the only: willie trombone


Here's a vid with the "best bits", and spoilers: https://youtu.be/bi4u4EvCblI
And, seriously, throw on this soundtrack and try to be in a bad mood: https://youtu.be/gSGk1bQ9rcU