Dean Clough

March 27, 2024

Portico Darwin: In Tribute to Francis Scott Key Bridge

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

<1 Minute Read

I am an early riser, and one of the first things I do after pushing the Nespresso button is look at The Economist website to see what's happening.  I like its international focus:  US news only leads if it's something big.  

Like a major bridge collapsing; I read this around 4AM PDT yesterday, or a little more than 5 hours after its collapse:
 
Huge sections of the 1.6-mile Francis Scott Key Bridge that spans Baltimore Harbor collapsed into the sea after it was struck by a cargo ship around 1.30AM local time. 

I then saw the shocking video of the collapse.   

Living next to one of the most iconic bridges in the world for as long as I have binds me to the people of Baltimore today in a way that's hard to explain.  Ask anyone who lives here how they'd feel if the Golden Gate Bridge lay in ruins at the entrance to San Francisco Bay.  I would need therapy, and maybe lots of it.

Something will take its place in Baltimore Harbor, but it will never be the same.  My heart is shattered for the people who admired and enjoyed the architecture of the Francis Scott Key Bridge.  I offer this in tribute and as a reminder of the importance, beauty, and wonder of bridges.
1.jpg

2.jpg
I forgot one.
5.jpg


FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES

Let's lighten it up with a visit to Hunter Deuce's stack of comic books. 

I just use this cartoon when someone starts complaining about "free speech" and social media platforms:
censor.jpg
I think he either agreed with my post on Monday about censorship, or is pointing out I could have simply printed this cartoon instead and saved us all some time?

Thank you for reading this newsletter. 

KLUF

Here is a beautiful version of Bridge Over Troubled Water, recorded by Elvis Presley in Nashville in 1970.
elvis.jpg

About Dean Clough