Dean Clough

May 25, 2022

Portico Darwin: Yawn

TODAY'S RAMBLINGS

Flag of Ukraine.jpg


Ho hum.  Another mass shooting, and this time, 19 school children and 2 teachers were murdered in cold blood.  First black shoppers in Buffalo, and now Hispanic kids in Uvalde, Texas. 

I lay this directly at the (surely hideous) feet of Donald Trump.  It is his normalizing of cruelty and racism that has led us to yet another American nadir.  "Another" and "nadir" don't really belong in the same sentence, but tell me I'm wrong?  Heck, I'm still processing the fact the Supreme Court ain't what it used to be - remember that?

It is only the Republican party that stands in the way of rational gun control in this country.  I can hear the noise from them and the Fox News propaganda engine:  he was a mentally ill individual and it is not the ready access to guns that caused this. 

I have fucking had it with that reply and I hope you have, too.  Because if they cared, they'd be all in on mental health care as a national right.  And, um, they're not, in case you haven't noticed.

The idea that a minority of the country can bring us to this level of madness this rapidly is stunning.   

Are the lower taxes worth all of this?  Wouldn't you pay 10% more annually to return to the calm-in-hindsight days of Bush 1 or Clinton?  Maybe my Republican-voting friends can think about those children's families when they vote, and how their lives are completely and forever destroyed.  How many more times?

There is no FROM THE UNWASHED MASSES or KLUF today.  How could there be?

About Dean Clough