Corlin

December 14, 2022

My Odd Avatar

So I don't know if I ever explained the glyph that I use as a photo here:

This is more than 60 years old, I first drew it when I was about 10 years old.

So... When my oldest sister went away to college, she missed her younger siblings terribly, and we missed her. So we wrote to each other almost every day. (pen, paper, and snail mail).

One day we, my sisters and I, each received a package, Inside was a personal story. Written to each individual. It was a long rambling tale about how we were now old enough to know the truth, of who we were. We were indeed special, and each was now directed to find our own power in the world. We were instructed to find our true names, our skills, and our faults. We were also told to construct an petroglyph, that we would forever use as a mark, a sigil, and a talisman.

I will not reveal my true name, but I will tell you about my power in the world. I had chosen to be empathetic with all animals. I could, by being near, feel their feelings, share mine with them. Not so much speech, or even communication, but the essence of their being, and of mine.

Thus the glyph: Half man, half animal.