David Johnson

March 19, 2021

My First Post to HEY World

I first started using the HEY email service during its early, two week pre-release. I was fortunate to be invited in. Why did I take the bite? There were a couple of reasons,

  1. My predilection for trying out new software, whether I intend to use or need it,
  2. My handling of email, which always felt as though it was in survival mode and was causing me stress.

Number 2 was the main reason. I was looking for an answer, a means to take back control of my email, instead of email controlling me (which is how it felt). I am always wary when I go looking for outside solutions when there is a possibility that the problem is really inside, especially when there is a $100 per yer subscription. I had tried different email clients, and had a number of email addresses to manage different aspects of my life. But nothing was working for me, and if anything things were feeling more complicated. I figured that I had nothing to lose by giving HEY a go.

I played with it for a couple of days, and then let it sit there unused. About 5 to 7 days from my trial running out, I dived in and started taking it seriously. It's slightly unorthodox way of handling email - no folders outside of the Imbox, Paper Trail and the Feed - everything else just going into a long list of dealt with emails - felt disconcerting initially. In time though it started to feel freeing.

I slowly got rid of my other email address, aside my Apply ID, deleted email clients and consolidated everything into HEY. HEY has now been a part of my life for 9 months and I don't see it going away any time soon.

I am a little later stepping up and trying out HEY World, HEY's integrated blogging service that has been live for a couple of weeks, but this post is my initial foray, to see if I wish to include it in my portfolio of websites. It is certainly a low friction way of posting. Compile an email, send to world@hey.com and bingo.

Sending now...