David Senra

September 4, 2023

Bugatti

bugatti .jpeg

My top 10 highlights from the book:

1. A human life, by its very nature, has to be devoted to something or other, to a glorious or humble enterprise, an illustrious or obscure destiny. This is a strange but inexorable condition of things.

2. His starting point was always to create the most extraordinary things.

3. You get the feeling of being suddenly confronted with something unusual and beyond classification.

4. Bugatti was the first to do just the opposite.

5. He threw himself into this entirely new kind of art where so much was still to be invented.

6. I determined to build a car of my own. I had realized by then that I was completely taken by mechanics. My ideas gave me no rest.

7. Faster progress would be made in all fields if conceit did not cause us to forget or disdain the work done by others before us.

8. Bugatti made no attempt to compete with the low price models already on the market. The price of the Bugatti was higher than any other car of equal horsepower.

9. All the finest trophies were won easily by engaging in every important race without pause.

10. Nothing is too good. Nothing is too dear. You've got to win whatever the cost. You work day and night if necessary.

Listen to Founders #316 Bugatti 

About David Senra

Learn from history's greatest founders. Every week I read a biography of an entrepreneur and tell you what I learned on Founders podcast