David Senra

April 1, 2024

Quentin Tarantino's Cinema Speculation

Cinema Speculation.jpeg

My top 10 highlights from the book:

1. Tarantino is possibly the most joyously infectious movie lover alive.

2. On the ride home, even if I didn't have questions, my parents would talk about the movie we had just seen. These are some of my fondest memories.

3. I was watching the most challenging movies of the greatest movie-making era in the history of Hollywood.

4. One of the reasons he did such a dynamite job was he went thirty days over schedule.

5. I do think that to be a good director you have to be a good editor.

6. Steven Spielberg's Jaws is one of the greatest movies ever made, because one of the most talented filmmakers who ever lived, when he was young, got his hands on the right material, knew what he had, and killed himself to deliver the best version of that movie he could.

7. Solving the problems, both large and small, is the job of a film director.

8. He [Steven Spielberg] was a natural born filmmaker genius who grooved on exactly this kind of movie and would kill himself to deliver the exact vision that was in his head.

9. I've always approached my cinema with a fearlessness of the eventual outcome. A fearlessness that comes to me naturally.

10. He seemed like one of the only few practitioners who truly enjoyed their job, and consequently, their life.

Listen to #344 Quentin Tarantino on Apple, Spotify, or the web.

For a limited time only you can get lifetime access to Founders Notes.

That means you will be able to read and search all my highlights and notes for every book I have ever read for Founders podcast -- and every book I will ever read for Founders podcast!

Get access to the World’s Most Valuable Notebook for Founders

About David Senra

Learn from history's greatest founders. Every week I read a biography of an entrepreneur and tell you what I learned on Founders podcast