David Senra

April 27, 2024

Walt Disney: The Triumph of the American Imagination

waltneal.jpeg

My top 10 highlights from the book:

1.  Walt Disney seldom dabbled. Everyone who knew him remarked on his intensity; when something intrigued him, he focused himself entirely as if it were the only thing that mattered.

2.  He had the drive and ambition of ten million men.

3.  Part of Walt’s secret was that in insisting on quality from individuals of whom it had never been required, he inspired commitment.

4.  He seemed confident beyond any logical reason for him to be so. It appeared nothing could discourage him.

5.  I am going to sit tight. I have the greatest opportunity I have ever had and I'm in for everything.

6.  He would not even take a bathroom break.

7.  Animation was something that Walt thought he might do better than anyone else because so few people were doing it and so few people had any expertise in it, and the idea of being the best, the most noted, clearly appealed to him.

8.  He was always optimistic about his ability and about the value of his ideas. Never once did I hear him express anything except determination to go ahead.

9. Improvement was his mantra.

10. Walt Disney wanted domination. Domination that would make his position unassailable.

Listen to #346 How Walt Disney Built Himself on Apple, Spotify, or the web.

You can get lifetime access to Founders Notes.

That means you will be able to read and search all my highlights (20,000+) and notes for every book I have ever read for Founders podcast -- and every book I will ever read for Founders podcast!

Get access to the World’s Most Valuable Notebook for Founders

About David Senra

Learn from history's greatest founders. Every week I read a biography of an entrepreneur and tell you what I learned on Founders podcast