David Heinemeier Hansson

August 31, 2024

For what it'll make of you

I've always had an ambivalent relationship with goals. I don't like goals that feel like checkpoints on a treadmill. They make you reach for a million dollars in revenue, celebrate for a second, and then turn the chase to five million the minute after. No thanks. But specific, material goals aren't the only kind you can set.

Here's a goal I remember setting that wasn't like that. I remember seeing Kent Beck -- the creator of eXtreme Programming and author of my favorite programming style guide of all time --  on the conference stage at JAOO 2003. I was mesmerized by Kent's command of the material and the audience. And I remember setting a goal of becoming as capable as that in the art of public speaking on technical topics.

I also remember setting the goal of participating in the 24 Hours of Le Mans after just a few years of getting behind the wheel of a racing car for the first time. I had barely become proficient enough to compete safely against other drivers, but had already progressed enough from the first time on track that I could extrapolate the trajectory. And have faith that I was going to get there.

Now there's a fine line between goals that are ambitious and goals that are delusional. If I had set a goal to be the fastest driver in the world at age 30, after only earning my driver's license at 25, I would have been delusional. Those odds wouldn't just be long, they'd be impossible. And I don't like to start a pursuit in vain.

Same too, if, after watching Kent Beck on stage, I'd set a goal to repeat the feat the next year. That would have been delusional. Not only does it take time and practice and skill to become that good of a public speaker, I also needed to become knowledgeable enough about my domain to have something interesting to talk about.

But in both cases, the racing and the speaking, I intuitively knew that it wasn't just about the destination. If it was, there'd probably be many shortcuts I could have taken. But I wanted to take the long road. For what it would make of me. Jim Rohn expresses this sentiment beautifully:

Set a goal that'll make you stretch that far.
For what it'll make of you to achieve it.

The greatest value in life is not what you get,
the greatest value in life is what you become.

It was not about winning a race, but about becoming a racer. It was not about giving a speech, but about becoming a speaker. Think about what you'd like to become more often than thinking about what you'd like to get.

About David Heinemeier Hansson

Made Basecamp and HEY for the underdogs as co-owner and CTO of 37signals. Created Ruby on Rails. Wrote REWORK, It Doesn't Have to Be Crazy at Work, and REMOTE. Won at Le Mans as a racing driver. Fought the big tech monopolies as an antitrust advocate. Invested in Danish startups.