David Sinden

April 15, 2022

Good Friday: Difficult Passage

Hello again on this Good Friday, friends:

Not even 24 hours after writing my last email newsletter to you (...and turns out I never hit "send"? You can read it here: Passacaglia of the PassionI found myself on the organ bench playing the Crucifixus from Bach's B minor Mass. And I thought to myself, "is this not a passacaglia?"

And in truth, it is. But it's not entirely like the other Passacaglias I was thinking about last week.
  1. It's choral, and therefore texted. It's literally about the Crucifixion
  2. But is it not interesting that Bach chose this very musical form for this movement of his B minor Mass?
  3. And there's something more to this theme. It's a passus duriusculus (literally a "difficult passage"). The chromatic filling in of a perfect fourth is something understood in Baroque rhetoric as representing suffering and lament. Bach might have even referred to this as a lamento bass line.

What else?

In this Holy Week, I am contemplating, as I always do, music that has just right quality for these sacred days. But I'm thinking more and more that it's a kind of meeting halfway; yes, the music has to have a seriousness to it, but it's also made more intense by it being sung/played during this time. 

That's where the rubber hits the road for this thing called church music, I guess. 

Here are just a couple of the things I encountered that really take on greater intensity during Holy Week:


Wishing you a blessed Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter,
-David