David Sinden

October 14, 2022

Hope within the Wreckage: Vaughan Williams remembered

I keep thinking that I don't have enough material for a weekly email newsletter, but you wouldn't mind if these were short, would you?

  1. Wednesday was the 150th anniversary of the birth of English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams. On that day a wonderful read about Vaughan Williams appeared in the NY Times: Vaughan Williams: Complicated, but Not Quite Conservative by David Allen (free to read as a gift from me)

  2. Allen mentions Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5, which I've had on repeat since about a week ago. I've always loved that RVW dedicated this symphony, "without permission," to Jean Sibelius.

  3. Aside from music, I continue to enjoy reading Brandon Sanderson's The Stormlight Archive. I've just started on the third book in the series, Oathbringer. I had been out of the sci-fi/fantasy world for a long time, and this has been a really enjoyable re-introduction to the genre.

Later,
-David