Emre Doganer

January 13, 2023

Hard Questions Hard Topics #003: Why We Don't A/B Test Everything

Last week I read an article called ”we don't A/B test core values” from DHH. This is such a good explanation of the relationship between core values and marketing.

In this article, DHH said that if you want to be proud of your work and care about your customers do not A/B tests related to your customer happiness. For example; the process of canceling the subscription.

After reading and thinking about this, I realize that we as marketers mostly see people as numbers. This approach makes us 'rational, data-based machines' ignore the customers.

So if you want to do A/B test as a marketer, you should ask yourself two questions:

  1. Is this A/B test affect customers’ journey to make them happy?
  2. Is this A/B test affect me about feeling proud of my business?

If your answer is yes, do not begin the test.

If the answer is no, test, optimize, and iterate.

— Emre Doğaner
Co-founder Funnel Kafası | CMO Kodgem Straight

About Emre Doganer

I'm a fractional CMO for B2B SAAS companies. Also, I am co-founder of Funnel Kafası, Minor Stüdyo, Sadece-Ticaret. And leading Kodgem Straight as fractional CMO from the beginning of startup. Marketing, personal knowledge management, writing and learning are my passions.