Emre Doganer

April 15, 2024

Marketers and Masterchefs

I've been in the marketing game for years, and I can attest to the challenges that come with the role.

I've poured my heart and soul into crafting the perfect marketing campaigns, only to see them fall short due to factors beyond my control.

It's a rollercoaster of emotions, but I've learned to adapt and persevere.

Marketing is like being a master chef in a high-stakes cooking competition.

You're responsible for creating a mouthwatering dish, but once you've prepared it, you have no control over how it's served, plated, or even tasted by the judges.

• You're judged on taste (revenue), but you can't control the ingredients (the buying process, free trials, or sales) once your dish leaves the kitchen.

• Your culinary creations need to be both delicious and cost-effective, but your most innovative, groundbreaking recipes are often hard to put a price on. And if they don't immediately wow the judges, they're quickly taken off the menu.

• The competition expects you to create twice as many dishes as everyone else, with half the ingredients and less time. Yet, they still expect every dish to be a masterpiece.

When I created a particularly innovative campaign, I struggled to attribute its impact to a specific amount. 

It was frustrating to see my hard work go underappreciated simply because it didn't fit into a neat little box. 

But I've come to realize that not all victories can be measured in numbers, and I take pride in knowing that my work has made a difference, even if it's hard to quantify.

I remember a time when my team and I were blamed for a less-than-stellar quarter, despite our efforts to change the messaging and positioning we knew weren't working. 

It was a tough pill to swallow, but it taught me to be more resilient and to keep pushing for what I believe in, even when faced with adversity.

Throughout my career, I've often found myself wearing multiple hats, juggling various marketing channels and strategies with limited resources. 

It's been overwhelming at times, but it's also forced me to become more creative and efficient in my work.

In the end, I've learned that being a marketer in the B2B world is about so much more than just hitting revenue targets. 

It's about passion, creativity, and resilience in the face of challenges. And while we may not always receive the same recognition as our sales counterparts, I know that marketers like me play a crucial role in driving our organizations forward.

— Emre Doğaner
CMO Team Lead @ Funnelepic

About Emre Doganer

I'm a fractional CMO for B2B SAAS companies. Also, I am co-founder of Funnel Kafası, Minor Stüdyo, Sadece-Ticaret. And leading Kodgem Straight as fractional CMO from the beginning of startup. Marketing, personal knowledge management, writing and learning are my passions.