Ernie Svenson

April 9, 2021

Religion & Truth

I have a strong bias against organized religion. 

However, I do believe in God. 

Not the fairy tale, anthropomorphic God who is the main character in populist propaganda. 

But a different kind of "God."

I believe god is a universal spiritual force which, like gravity, is invisible and omnipresent. A spiritual force that exerts influence over everything in the universe. 

I believe the only way to discover this force is to find it for yourself —by turning inward. 

Most people don't want to turn inward, or don't know how. So they only "know God" through commonly shared myths. 

That's how I see it. And, of course, I could be completely wrong. 

But I'd rather be wrong trying to understand God in my own way than to reflexively accept a bunch of "agreed upon truths."

Truth is not something to be agreed upon. Or...

As Krishnamurti once said, "truth has no tradition. It cannot be handed down."

I also like the quote about truth from the movie, The Big Short...

“Truth is like poetry. And most people fucking hate poetry.”