Ernie Svenson

March 5, 2021

Superfluous Friction

I hate friction.

But I abhor, detest and completely loath superfluous friction.

What's friction? Well, lots of things:
  • traffic jams
  • computer problems
  • people in my way when I'm trying to move down a store aisle
  • not remembering where I put something I need
  • not being able to solve a problem
  • dealing with paper receipts
  • being forced to scrawl my "supposed signature" into an electronic box when making a purchase
  • unsolicited requests that show up in my inbox

What's superfluous friction? 

Probably most of the things I listed above. Plus a whole lot more.

If I can eliminate some annoyance, solve it, or avoid it, then it is, by definition, superfluous friction.

So I assume anything that I perceive as friction as superfluous...

Until (after repeated attempts over an appropriate amount of time) I just can't solve make it go away. Then I start to assume that it might be unavoidable friction.

Now, having said that...

Ask me about the difference between internal friction (only in my mind) versus external friction. 

Internal friction is insidious because you rarely realize there's friction. 

And once you do realize it's there, figuring out how to make it go away is often quite difficult.

More about that in another post.

;-)