Farah

July 27, 2021

African Tech News #5 with Kudigo of Accra, Ghana

Today was episode #5 of African Tech News. Hosted by Owuraku Sarpong and me.

You can join us live every Tuesday at 7 PM (Ghana) / 8 PM (Nigeria) / 10 PM (Kenya) / 12 PM (Los Angeles) / 3 PM (New York).

We spoke with Bright Ahedor of Kudigo providing simple software for retail stores. Another great talk along our theme for the month of July: Fintech.

Started in 2017 Kudigo's main product is StoreFront which is a complete retail software built for small and medium businesses in Africa. With StoreFront, you are able to:

  • manage your stock
  • process sales
  • capture customer records
  • accept payments and more

Solving the problem of
  • Lack of access to finance
  • Lack of business validation
  • High cost of KYC and due diligence in accessing the informal sector

In today's show we learned that Kudigo is accepting customers (i.e. physical and e-commerce retailers) in the following countries:
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • Kenya
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • South Africa

The best way to support Kudigo at the moment is to try their product if you believe you'll be a good fit or reach out to partner. Kudigo partners with logistics, financial service companies and much more.

Here's a breakdown of how you could use Kudigo. I am an owner of a hair care product line. I could set up a physical permanent retail store or a pop up shop, for example. I would use Kudigo to manage my inventory and set up an online storefront.

While in person, people can pay through Kudigo at my physical retail or pop up location - all without an Internet connection! I could also use Kudigo's StoreFront product and sell my product online. Kudigo will handle the payments and shipping to my customers! In addition, I have the potential to access business loans to keep my business going.

For the recording of today's and previous live sessions visit here: anchor.fm/african-tech-news. Note that the recordings are posted a few days after the live session.

See you next Tuesday at 7 PM (Ghana) / 8 PM (Nigeria) / 10 PM (Kenya) / 12 PM (Los Angeles) / 3 PM (New York).

If you are African descent and would like to be featured by African Tech News you can email me at farah@hey.com. Or DM Owuraku or me.

Additional places to find us:

Hosts

Livestreams

Recordings

Twitter