Farah

August 27, 2023

How I live on 100 things or less!

Minimalism is a lifestyle and philosophy emphasizing simplicity, intentionality, and purposeful reduction of needless possessions, activities, and clutter. The goal is to shift focus towards what truly holds value, shedding distractions that lead to stress and a sense of being overwhelmed by material excess. Minimalism extends beyond just decluttering physical spaces; it encompasses mental and emotional facets as well. This mindset urges individuals to assess their commitments, goals, and relationships, striving to retain only those that align with their core values and aspirations.

The advantages of embracing minimalism are extensive. First, it cultivates a heightened sense of contentment and well-being by promoting mindfulness and diminishing the constant craving for material possessions. With fewer possessions, there's less to organize, clean, and worry about. This liberates time and mental capacity to pursue meaningful experiences and personal development. Minimalism also fosters improved financial management as spending habits are more thoughtfully evaluated, with a shift towards investing in experiences rather than material goods. This shift in lifestyle frequently leads to decreased stress and anxiety, as individuals detach from the consumer-driven culture that fuels the desire for constant acquisition. Ultimately, minimalism encourages prioritizing quality over quantity, resulting in a more deliberate and gratifying life journey.

My journey to becoming a minimalist took years and was not easy. The way I was able to begin my successful journey was to create a loose framework around owning 100 items or less.

If you’re looking to become a minimalist here’s what I consider a practical framework around the concept of owning less:

  1. Golden Rule. Establish what your Golden Rule is. Mine: “If I buy a (non-consumable) product, I must sell or donate one thing I already have.”
  2. Multiple-Purpose. Everything should have more than one purpose, when possible.
  3. 7-day Cycle. Anything not used for 7 days straight gets put on the chopping block
  4. Layered. Buy clothes that can be layered to make them appear as multiple outfits or work for cooler weather without having to purchase additional clothes
  5. Travel-Friendly. Buy products and containers that are inherently travel-friendly. This means fewer containers overall and that there aren't idol containers taking up space during non-travel months
  6. Clear Storage: No-lid or clear containers for storage. This ensures that I don’t accidentally forget I have an item and repurchase it. It also keeps things I own on top of my mind. Allowing me to easily sell or donate any unnecessary items
  7. Quality over Quantity. No “fast fashion” anything. Only buy things of high quality and timeless pieces. This will inherently create excitement when you look at the pieces rather than regret. This also means that you’ll be able to resell them on Craigslist or another marketplace at another time. This is recycling both your money and items. Which is better for your pocket and the environment

Intentionally keeping my framework succinct makes it easy to not get overwhelmed by either owning items or spending “unnecessary” time debating about making a new purchase or getting rid of items. This way each item I touch or see in my space I can immediately make a decision if it is a keeper or not.

And remember to stay flexible. The above is what works for me. But adapt it for your use. For example, if you live in a household of 3 people. Instead of 100 things or less - do 300! Either each of you gets your own 100 items or collectively shares the 300 items to add versatility to the items you use.

To provide you with additional inspiration here is a list of most of my 100 items: https://benable.com/farahbrunache/how-i-live-on-100-things-or-less.

P.S.

Minimalism is part of my journey of mindfulness and achieving happiness. If you are looking to dig deeper into mindfulness may I suggest purchasing my book: The Art of Mindfulness: Cultivating Inner Peace through Meditation: A Practical Guide to Finding Clarity and Calm in a Busy & Digital World available in the links below.

Audible | US | UK | FR | DE