Filip Němeček

August 20, 2021

#IndieAppStore

EDIT: Even though I am talking about "iOS", I plan to make this catalog to encompass all the Apple platforms. Which means iPadOS, macOS, watchOS and even tvOS.

My idea to create "indie apps catalog" got very positive feedback on Twitter so I decided to go ahead with it.

So far my plan is to create catalog/directory/list into which anyone can submit an indie app. The submission will be App Store URL, which let's me easily download basic info from App Store API.

I plan to use the same categories as App Store to sort the apps along with "recently added" category. In the future there could be recommendations powered by visitors, collections (like to-do apps, weather apps etc).

My hope is that this would with time get popular beyond the iOS dev community and would be visited by iOS users who like discovering new apps.

I have no idea what should this be called. So I am open to suggestions. I think it would be wise to avoid having "app store" in the name. And available .com domain would be super nice.

Thanks!

Filip