Gary Mintchell

January 24, 2022

Data and Automation Trends

Journalist's ability to accurately report on all the statistics and research floating around, as well as the general public's deficiency are appalling. I found this book by Tim Harford and reviewed it. The Data Detective - https://themanufacturingconnection.com/2022/01/intellectual-discipline/ .

Companion to that were thoughts I assembled from a variety of sources regarding how we need awareness when reading Hype in the Press https://themanufacturingconnection.com/2022/01/hype-in-the-press/ . A corollary to this is an attitude we find in the press and among politicians about what manufacturing is, what its value to the economy is, and what great careers are available.

I attended the IMC 2021 conference in December. My specific goal was a deeper dive into Predictive Maintenance. My work with IT companies and other marketers seemed to always devolve into the idea that predictive analytics leading to predictive maintenance was the killer app for IoT. I was suspicious. I ran into a long-time colleague, Gopal Gopalkrishnan who is now with CapGemini, at dinner. We discussed a layered approach to maintenance strategy. Many talks I heard took predictive maintenance further by tying it to workflow—it's of little value to predict without doing something about it. I'll have a blog post a bit later this week.

Facebook, nee Meta, decided to divert attention from its troubles by going hyper on the Metaverse. Since then, I have heard two automation companies talk about Metaverse—actually just meaning an extension of the work already done with augmented reality. Some of the meta will go beyond hype to be a useful tool. And some will fall into the graveyard of the over-hyped.

Bill Lydon writing at automation.com gave his Top 12 Trends. I pretty much agree with them. Some of these have been around a while. I expect to see 5G applications increase. Bill and I have been long-time proponents of open standards, and the use will continue with a new crop of engineers. As far as edge, I think the improvements will come from edge-to-cloud-and-back interaction. 

• Evolving Manufacturing Industry Environments
• Real Time Manufacturing Business: Digital Integration
• Worldwide Industry 4.0 Initiatives
• Digital Manufacturing Architecture Provides Visibility
• Open Standards Are Essential
• IP Communications: Enterprise to Field Devices
• 5G Wireless: High Expectations for Industrial Applications
• Edge Computing: Processing at Nodes and Field Devices
• Modular Design Enables System Flexibility
• Programing Democratization and Empowerment
• Cybersecurity Integration: Driving to the edge
• Robotics Innovations Enable New Applications

Stay safe and make a difference.

Gary