Gary Mintchell

June 5, 2021

New Email Newsletter Service—from MailChimp to HEY

I am switching newsletter services from MailChimp to HEY  <https://world.HEY.com/garymintchell>. You will receive a notice from HEY asking you to opt in. You already “opted in” by registering at my blog The Manufacturing Connection. But you will be asked to opt in again. 

I’m not in a numbers game, so if you wish not to opt in, OK. I will not be notified who does or does not because I hate tracking. I just do this because I like to think and write and build the community.

Out of respect for your time and attention, you can expect:
  • Focus on technology, science, and the human impact
  • It may be directly manufacturing related, or it may be something off-the-wall designed to make you think
  • I will keep it as short as possible. Longer items will be on my blog which you may visit or subscribe via RSS
  • You are invited and encouraged to respond. If you are taking the time to read and mull over my thoughts, I am happy to do the same for you.

When we designed the new Website in 2013, MailChimp was the obvious way to go. When you register at The Manufacturing Connection, your email address was sent to MailChimp. Over the years, I’ve liked MailChimp less and less. I’m not selling you anything. I don’t need all your information (or want it). I don’t need to track you. In fact, I hate tracking. I’m not a magazine or other business that makes money selling your information. It also has an awkward workflow. So, I’m changing.

The new service is from HEY. This is a new product from the folks at Basecamp—a team productivity application. I have been using Hey for about a year. I like the layout and the usability. The only drawback, and this held me back from switching, concerns the owners Jason Fried and David Heinemeier-Hansson (known as DHH). They have, er, strong personalities. They just overreacted to some internal management oversights lashing out with internal/public emails about new policies that caused 1/3 of their employees to quit.

But, if I quit doing business with everyone who is a jerk, well…


Gary