Gary Mintchell

April 18, 2022

Random Thoughts from Gary

Quote of the day:

If you hurry to get to the future, you always get a punishment for it. For example, instant coffee.” 

Alan Watts

===

Book I’m reading:

Four Thousand Weeks: Time Management for Mortals, by Oliver Burkeman.

My introduction to time management was 1977 at a company management conference when the speaker sent us all DayTimers. I’ve been through Franklin, ProActive Management, a couple I have forgotten, Getting Things Done, electronic ones—Thinking Rock and Nozbe. Burkeman suggests three hours on your most important project, three maintenance activities such as exercise, email, etc., and three shorter tasks such as urgent to do.

At a loss? As part of the conclusions, he quotes the psychologist Carl Jung, “quietly do the next and most necessary thing.”

===

Manufacturing technology?

I’ve been thinking deeply about whatever happened to IoT. It was such a big deal, hyped to the max. I was invited to three different major IT supplier conferences when they had IoT groups (all now gone). The only IoT press releases I have seen lately are from new sensor companies.

Why have IoT in the first place? I think data. We’ve known since the mid-90s that in order to fulfill the benefits of ERP real-time data from manufacturing/production was essential. Bundling existent technologies, the concept of IoT was formed.

The technology movement currently revolves around data orchestration (e.g. Zededa) and data ops (e.g. High Byte).

===

Book on my next-to-read list:

Steel Toes and Stilettos, Shannon Karels and Kathy Miller, a story of women forging a path in manufacturing management. More later.

Take care,

Gary